How to View Your Facebook Profile as Someone Else Would View It

You can never be too careful when posting things on Facebook. Events and images meant to share with friends or family can accidentally become available to other eyes. There are settings intended to prevent this, but checking every post to confirm the “Private” status is quite challenging.

How to View Your Facebook Profile as Someone Else Would View It

Fortunately, Facebook has the option to let you see which of your uploads are viewable by everyone. This article shows you how to view your Facebook Profile as someone else would, giving you control over what content you make public.

Viewing Your Facebook Profile as Public on Windows, Mac, or Linux

Viewing your profile as others see it is a simple process when on a PC or Mac. To do so, follow these instructions:

  1. Open “Facebook” in a browser, then click on the “upside-down triangle” (Account menu) in the top-right section.
  2. Select “See Your Profile” at the very top.
  3. Click on the “horizontal ellipsis” (three horizontal dots) under the profile header.
  4. Choose “Profile and tagging settings.”
  5. Scroll down the right pane to the bottom. Next to the “eye icon,” click on “View as” to view what others see on your profile page.

Viewing Your Facebook Profile as Public on Android/iOS/iPhone

Facebook Mobile lets you view your Facebook profile as public as a browser can, though enabling it is slightly different. Here’s what you need to do:

  1. Open the “Facebook app” and go to your “profile page” by tapping on your “profile icon” or the “hamburger icon” (Menu) towards the top section of the screen.
  2. Tap on the “horizontal ellipsis” (three horizontal lines) to access your profile menu.
  3. Select “View As.”
  4. Your profile appears, displaying all publicly viewable content.

Why Would You Want to View Your Profile as Someone Else?

Social Media has dramatically changed how we communicate with others. It has made posting our thoughts and daily habits second nature. However, taking for granted what we upload can lead to many security risks for both you and your family and should not be ignored.

People underestimate the amount of data a simple picture displays. A street sign, a landmark, or even the surrounding houses can give away your location to anyone persistent enough to try and find it, not to mention all of the location data in the image file itself.

If you post images to show off to friends, that is well and good, but it is an easy enough mistake to forget to switch back privacy settings once they become public. Viewing your profile as someone else allows you to see which posts you have made available to everyone else.

You can quickly decide whether these posts are OK to be left to your public profile or subsequently be made private. The ‘View As’ option allows you to see all your ‘public’ posts simultaneously and eliminates the tedious post-by-post inspection process.

Keeping Track of Your Uploads

Social media has become something so mundane that it gets taken for granted in these modern times. People post almost anything and everything, from big celebrations to what they’ve had for lunch. Keeping track of what you upload is essential, as you don’t want to share things with people you don’t want to see.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer: Some pages on this site may include an affiliate link. This does not effect our editorial in any way.

Todays Highlights
How to See Google Search History
how to download photos from google photos